top of page

Blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Honey Hale

Purple Carrot

A vegan is a person who does not use or consume animal products.


That doesn't sound so bad, right? Then why are we conditioned to cringe when we hear that someone is a vegan? I have to admit that even when I tell people I eat a lot of vegan meals and use mostly vegan beauty products I feel the need to emphasize that I AM NOT IN FACT TOTALLY VEGAN, PLEASE DON'T JUDGE ME. But being vegan isn't a negative.


In January I did Whole30 to see if I could figure out the cause for my gastritis. During that time I also discovered my body isn't a huge fan of dairy. Ok fine. Break my heart, but I can deal. So I cut waaaay back on dairy. I also realized I feel better and have more energy if I don't eat a lot of meat. My body feels it's best when it's nourished by fruits and veggies. And the older we get, the more we should listen to our bodies, right? RIGHT?!


In that time I've switched almost entirely to a pescatarian diet with vegan meals most days. My body flat out told me it performs best when eating plant based foods and it continues to tell me this each day as I get leaner, have more energy and feel better. Not to mention, what gastritis??


I grew up in a meat eating household and went to a French culinary school so I had to learn how to cook and eat vegan. Even with all of my culinary prowess I'm not too proud to admit I needed some help switching to this lifestyle so I wasn't just eating quinoa and kale everyday.


Enter Purple Carrot, one of those meal delivery services where they send you ingredients and recipes to cook your own meals. But what makes them perfect for my learning curve is they are completely vegan.


I thought I would try it out and see how it went, and ya'll I am in love!!! Their recipes do require some basic culinary skills and are not for beginners. These dishes are flavorful, filling and give me so much energy! I'm not going to do an entire review because I want my posts to be on the short side, but I will definitely be sharing some of my favorite recipes from them in the future.


For $72 a week (way less than the cost of my boyfriend and I to eat out and get drinks for one night) you get three entire meals for two people. You even have the option to choose meals higher in protein if you're more active. I love that I'm learning how to use vegan ingredients and the different options and cooking methods that are available. With this, you get to try new ingredients portioned out just for what you need, so you don't have to buy entire jars of things for one dish. Goodbye food waste! So if there's something you end up not loving, you haven't wasted money to let the rest sit in your pantry or fridge. Plus, that's three vegan meals I don't have to plan for. Which is great for me because meal planning and grocery shopping for the week is very tedious and one of my least favorite things to do. Trust me, not having to worry about three dinners makes a big difference. Another great thing is if you're like me and want to just incorporate vegan meals in your week without fully committing, this is a great way to do that.


If you're looking for a way to get lean, eat healthier or just even feel better, I highly recommend adding some vegan meals to your week and giving Purple Carrot a try. Trust me, I'm a (former) chef. ;)


Visit the website here to learn more!


If you decide to give it a try let me know! I love talking about food with people!


bottom of page