top of page

Blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Honey Hale

TCMFF at Home



Hey guys and dolls! Are you like me and forced to pay for travel for weddings and birthdays that you didn't have the funds to attend the Turner Classic Movies Film Festival this year? No fear, your own TCM Party is here!


I've planned a fun night filled with recipes and movie watching so you can host your own event at home!


One of the biggest draws of the festival is getting to connect with other classic film friends. Which brings me to step one: invite people over! Even if they're not into classic movies, this a great way to introduce them to some! Channel our greatest teacher, Robert Osborne, and give intros to the movie(s) you play. Even if it's only to your dog, you can be the star of your own festival!


Step two: pick your movies. I've chosen films that are playing at the festival and also available on FilmStruck. The recipes I have here are also inspired by these options, but get creative. Choose your own lineup based on your personal library or films that have been sitting on the DVR for months you've been meaning to get around to watch. Yeah, I see you.


Now - My movie lineup includes:

His Girl Friday (1940)

Woman of the Year (1942)

Night of the Living Dead (1968)


Step 3: FOOD. One thing I've heard about TCMFF is not of having time to eat, and folks having to carry snacks in their bags. The great thing about being at home is you never have to wait in line and you can eat the entire time you view!


Dinner time!

Appetizer: Popcorn bar

Pop up a ton of popcorn and set out your favorite toppings! I have Reese's Pieces, nuts, coconut flakes, sour gummy worms and chocolate covered raisins.



Main: Puff Pastry Pizza

His Girl Friday and Woman of the Year are films about reporters in New York so pizza had to be on this menu! And this one is super easy!




Recipe:

1 package crescent rolls

3 Tablespoons marinara sauce

1 cup (or more if you like) shredded Italian cheese blend

Fresh tomatoes

Fresh baby spinach

2 tsp dried Italian seasoning


Steps:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Roll out your crescent dough (keeping the rectangular shape) onto a parchment lined baking sheet brushed with a little olive oil. Spread marinara sauce on the dough and cover with cheese. Top with tomatoes and spinach, then sprinkle Italian seasoning on top. Bake for 9-15 minutes until crust is golden brown. Cut and enjoy!


*Spruce this up with your favorite toppings!*


Dessert: Graveyard Cupcakes

I had to have a themed dessert for Night of the Living Dead! I have to admit I use to be a professional baker and I still use box cake mixes when I'm in a jam. In this case, I want to enjoy movies, not spend a ton of time in the kitchen! So for these I made some chocolate cupcakes and then crumbled a couple of them to be dirt. I used Milano cookies cut in half for the headstones, and left over sour gummies from the popcorn bar on top. I combined store bought buttercream and chocolate fudge to get a light brown for my icing to be the "dirt mound".





And there you have it, the makings for a great night or an entire weekend celebrating your own film festival! What movies are you going to watch on your own? Let me know on Twitter @MissErinMcGee


xoxo




bottom of page